Juniors put finishing touches on undefeated GCSL slate

By Ben Stroup

July 17, 2014

The Delaware Aquatic Racing Team Stingrays (DARTS) recently wrapped up an undefeated Greater Columbus Swim Meet dual-meet season, dropping the visiting Gators of Plain Township Wednesday afternoon in Delaware.

The Juniors won by an impressive 443-284 margin.

Standouts included Kami Pelletier-Harris (6U), who won her 1-meter diving event with a score of 44.10; Isabel Crissinger (10U), who won her division’s diving competition with a score of 69.25; Mark Sulek (10U), who took top honors in his age group’s diving event with a score of 76.55; Zack Sanson (6U), who won the 25 backstroke and 25 freestyle in respective times of 29.29 and 26.10 seconds; Anna Lance (8U), who won her 25 backstroke race in 17.40 seconds; Brendan Olney (8U), who won his 25 backstroke event in 19.99 seconds before winning the 25 free in 17.45; Joey Hanks (10U), who nabbed wins in the 50 back and 50 free in respective times of 38.13 and 31.56 seconds; Kyle Sanson (8U), who won the 25 butterfly in 21.04 seconds; Carson Hansbery (8U), who won the 25 breaststroke in 25.88 seconds; Rory VanGorder (10U), who won the 50 breaststroke in 42 seconds and the 50 freestyle in 31.41; and Kaitlyn Sallows (8U), who won the 25 free in 16.92 seconds.

Sulek also won three individual swimming events, picking up first-place points in the 100 IM (1:24.42), 50 butterfly (43.67 seconds) and 50 breaststroke (46.41 seconds), while the squad’s boys 8U 100 medley, 10U 100 medley, 8U 100 freestyle and 10U freestyle relay teams also secured wins, finishing in respective times of 1:32.57, 1:22.18, 1:23.06 and 1:09.44.

As for the girls’ relay teams, the 8U 100 freestyle and 10U 100 freestyle relay squads also snagged impressive wins, finishing in 1:19.98 and 1:04.22, respectively.

Next up, its off to the GCSL Championships for the Stingrays. The diving championships are slated for today (14U and 18U) and tomorrow (8U, 10U and 12U) at Gahanna.

Swimming prelims are set for Monday at Worthington while the finals will take place Tuesday back in Gahanna.