PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) — A new Rhode Island law bans the sale of powdered caffeine to minors.
It was one of dozens of bills signed into law by Democratic Gov. Gina Raimondo in late June.
People who are under 21 years old and are convicted of possessing powdered caffeine could face up to a $500 fine. The maximum penalty for people convicted of selling it to minors would be $3,000 or up to three years in prison for multiple offenses.
Concentrated caffeine powder is far more potent than coffee. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration advises consumers not to use it.
The FDA says two young men in Ohio and Georgia died after using the product. Ohio has since outlawed it.
RECOMMENDED FOR YOU