Seven candidates fail to qualify for ballot


Seven candidates failed to qualify for the Nov. 3 ballot, the Delaware County Board of Elections determined last week.

Candidates who failed to qualify for the ballot include two people seeking school board seats, two candidates for council seats, two vying for seats on township board of trustees and one person seeking a fiscal officer position.

The most prominent name that will likely not be on the ballot is Ted Backus, president of the Delaware Board of Education.

Without Backus on the ballot, that leaves just one person – incumbent Matthew Weller – to vie for two open seats.

Yvette Lawal, one of seven candidates who had filed to run for three open seats on the Olentangy Board of Education, also failed to qualify for the ballot.

The race to fill three open Powell City Council seats lost one of the six candidates to file for the race when Donald D. Emerick was disqualified from the ballot.

Just two candidates remain in the race for two open Galena Village Council seats after Michelle M. Parsons did not qualify for the ballot.

Other candidates not to qualify for the ballot are Rick Clunk, who filed to run for a seat on the Marlboro Township Board of Trustees, Douglas P. Crowl, who filed to run for a seat on the Porter Township Board of Trustees, and Julie L. Regula, who was aiming to become Scioto Township Fiscal Officer.

Josh Pedaline, director of the Delaware County Board of Elections, said most candidates were disqualified due to a lack of valid signatures on nominating petitions.

The deadline for a write-in candidacy is Aug. 24.

By Dustin Ensinger

[email protected]

Dustin Ensinger can be reached at 740-413-0902 or on Twitter @EnsingerDG.

No posts to display