Two Delaware County residents were among 16 chosen by the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation, which is awarding $1,500 college scholarships.

Jacob Wenner of Lewis Center was awarded the Cindy Hollingshead Scholarship. This fund was established in 2011 to honor Cynthia Anne (Cindy) Hollingshead for 39 years of service as Ohio Farm Bureau’s executive secretary, as well as a lifetime of volunteer commitment to local government and community service activities. Financial assistance goes to students who are pursuing careers focused on agriculture, community service and association leadership.

Jessica Harsh of Radnor was awarded the Darwin Bryan Scholarship. This fund was established in 1985 in honor of Darwin R. Bryan whose enthusiastic leadership during his 37 years of service to Ohio Farm Bureau has been an inspiration to rural youth throughout Ohio. The fund assists students who have been active in the Farm Bureau’s youth program and/or whose parents are Farm Bureau members.

Supported by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation, the foundation annually recognizes Ohio students for their academic effort, community engagement and career interests that link agriculture to community service, education or scientific research.

The Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation offers scholarship programs annually.

Staff Report

Information for this story was provided by the Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation.