Hayes boys win host invitational


Craig Klumpp set a pool record in winning the 100 breaststroke and Remy Curtin swept the sprint freestyle events as Hayes’ boys won the team title at Saturday’s Delaware Hayes Swimming and Diving Invitational for the first time since 2011.

Klumpp set the record with a time of 1:01.34. He also nabbed runner-up honors in the 200 IM in 2:10.81 while Curtin picked up first-place points in the 50 and 100 freestyles with respective times of 22.55 and 49.07 seconds.

Overall, the hosts won six of the 12 events. Kyle Klumpp won the 1-meter diving event with a score of 185.55 and the Pacers took top honors in the 200 medley relay (Adryan Rojas, Craig Klumpp, Andrew Parker and Curtin) and 400 freestyle relay (Curtin, Kael Gannon, Parker and Noah Planisek) in respective times of 1:45.04 and 3:23.89.

Hayes won the title with 345 points while Hilliard Davidson and Westerville South smoothed out the top three with scores of 204 and 197. Buckeye Valley was also in action, finishing ninth with 27 points.

The Pacer girls, meanwhile, finished second to Watterson for the third year in a row. Brooke Glesenkamp was honored as Female Performer of the Meet after lowering her own meet records in winning the 50 (24.38 seconds) and 100 (53.37 seconds) freestyles. Her time in the 100 also lowered her own pool record.

As if that wasn’t enough excitement for one day, the senior anchored the winning 400 freestyle relay team (Danielle Ward, Valerie Keller, Kristen Puthoff and Glesenkamp), which also set a meet record (3:42.91).

The Pacers padded their point total with a win in the 200 freestyle relay as Ward, Lauren Ertz, Emily Abahazi and Puthoff combined to finish in 1:44.37.

Watterson finished with 294 points while Hayes closed with 283. Westerville South rounded out the top three with a score of 168 while Buckeye Valley finished ninth with 15 points.

By Ben Stroup

[email protected]

Follow Ben Stroup on Twitter @delgazette_ben.

No posts to display