Commissioners seek rural zoning commission applicants


The Delaware County Board of Commissioners is currently seeking to appoint two regular members and one alternate member to the Rural Zoning Commission.

This Commission consists of five regular members who each serve a five-year term and the two alternates also serving five year terms. The Delaware County Board of Commissioners is seeking to appoint one member to serve a full term beginning Jan. 1, 2018 and ending on Dec. 31, 2022; one member to serve an unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2019; and one alternate.

The Rural Zoning Commission forms a cohesive, diversified group. Members shall be residents of the unincorporated area of the county included in the zoned area (Marlboro, Radnor and Thompson townships).

As a Rural Zoning Commission member, your contribution is vital to the development and future endeavors of Delaware County. This Commission works in conjunction with the zoning inspector and other local agents to ensure that policies and practices are being adhered to and enforced. Specific responsibilities of the Rural Zoning Commission are:

• Preparation of the zoning resolution, both text and map(s);

• Initiation of amendments to zoning text and map(s);

• Make formal recommendations on all amendments.

Interested individuals can apply by using Delaware County’s online application portal. It can be accessed at For any questions regarding this application procedure, please contact Mindy Owens, Delaware County Human Resources, 740-833-2129 or [email protected].

Completed Board Appointment applications must be received through the Applicant Tracking portal no later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 1, 2017.


No posts to display