‘Lifetime of Giving’ awards to be presented Friday


The Delaware County Board of Developmental Disabilities will present its annual “Lifetime of Giving” awards on Friday, March 4, at 2 p.m. at All Shepherd’s Church, 6580 Columbus Pike, Lewis Center.

These awards recognize self-advocates, outstanding service professionals and others who support individuals with developmental disabilities in Delaware County, according to board officials. Award winners were nominated by Delaware community members.

State Rep. Andrew Brenner will deliver the keynote speech about March as “Developmental Disabilities Awareness Month.”

The awards ceremony began in 1999 in honor of Nancy Richards, who believes that people with disabilities make the best advocates for themselves to prepare for self-determination. In 2004, the ceremony expanded to honor Kathy VanBuskirk with the Kathy VanBuskirk Outstanding Direct Support Professional Service Award. The award recognizes individuals who provide outstanding care for individuals with developmental disabilities.

Both of these awards are still given today and carry a $250 educational scholarship for the winners. This year, the board will present awards in eight categories.

“It is so important that we take the time to recognize those individuals and community members who make a difference in the lives of others,” said Kristine Hodge, superintendent of the board. “We are incredibly lucky to live in a community that is so inclusive to those with disabilities, and we are excited to continue to recognize self-advocates and community members with these awards.”

Award nominees in the following categories are:

Kathy VanBuskirk Outstanding Service Award — Tammy Brooks, Joy Martin, Shelli Patterson, Phil Phillips, Kyle Stroman, Bill Volkhardt and Laura Wells.

Nancy Richards Self-Advocate of the Year Award — Tema Krempley and Jessi Russell.

Outstanding Adult Day Service Support Specialist Award — Kerry Lane.

Outstanding Advocate — Megan Tice.

Outstanding Community Employer Award — Goodwill of Delaware.

Outstanding Community Partner Award — Rita Treese and Miriam Zabonik.

Outstanding Team — Bailey Elementary preschool team.

Outstanding Volunteer Award — Jim Conger and Leah Norris.

Staff Report

Information for this story was provided by the Delaware County Board of Developmental Disabilities.

No posts to display