Election 2017: Delaware City Council incumbents win re-election


All four incumbents seeking re-election to Delaware City Council were successful in their bids during Tuesday’s general election.

At-large council members George A. Hellinger, Carolyn Kay Riggle, and Kent H. Shafer, and 3rd Ward councilman Jim Browning received substantial support from city voters

Riggle, the current Delaware mayor, was the leading vote-getter in the at-large race, securing 5,408 votes. Shafer, the vice mayor, collected 3,780 votes and Hellinger received 3,507 votes. Challengers Dustin Nanna and Laura Roberts received support from 2,099 voters and 302 voters, respectively.

The new term for Hellinger, Riggle, and Shafer commences Nov. 20.

Browning outpaced challenger George McNab by 138 votes to win the 3rd Ward seat on council, 546 to 408. Ben Kelly received 249 votes and George Mantzoros collected 110 votes.

Browning is filling the unexpired term of former council member Joe DiGenova, which ends Nov. 17, 2019. He was appointed by council in May of this year to replace DiGenova, who passed away in March.


Gazette Staff

[email protected]

No posts to display